Jay Paloma's Tech and Music Blog

Sometimes, this writer can no longer distinguish between the two.

My reflections on being a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP)

with 2 comments


Note: This is a repost of a blog post I wrote last 28 March 2008. I reposted this here and made few modifications. While reflecting on this, I realized that my thoughts on the subject haven’t really changed (Jay Paloma, 21 Feb 2011).

On April 1, 2008, just a few days more, my one-year Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) would lapse already. I will be either renewed or dropped from the rolls of MVP. Whatever the outcome, I would leave that to the folks at Microsoft who perform the review. For now, I would just like to share my experience as an MVP, and how it all started.

First up, how does one become an MVP, or to put it in a first person perspective, what did I do to become an MVP? Well, it’s easy for me to answer that question: nothing. I did not take any exam nor I did not do anything special in my job, or in Microsoft, or even in PHIWUG. Maybe that nothing I mentioned was the reason why I was blessed with becoming an MVP in the first place since I just did what I enjoy doing and history would just take care of the rest. I can tell you one thing though: I love Microsoft technology. The first time I laid eyes on Windows NT 4.0 and Exchange Server 5.5, I said to myself that this is the technology I would want to work with! And since my job at Compulab around 1996, the most fulfilling experience for me apart from planning and implementation, is to teach Microsoft technology, whether in a paid class or free during the early TechNet events (back in 1999 it was held in Glorietta 4 theaters 2x/year). Between 1996 to the present, I always found myself in heaven when I conduct events on Microsoft technology (there were a few times I was in hell also, but that’s another story).

With the advent of the Microsoft Philippines Community Forums (http://msforums.ph), and eventually the blogs portion, somehow I found something else that I love doing: write about Microsoft technology. For me, the Microsoft Philippines Community Forums is a great outlet to share one’s knowledge on the technology. There are two ways where I write about the technology: first is to reply to posts made on products that I work with, second by having my own blog space (Security is a State of Mind http://msforums.ph/blogs/jpaloma) (note: currently Jay Paloma’s Technical Blog at https://jpaloma.wordpress.com). Quite frankly, I may not have been an MVP without the Forums since this provided the outlet for me to deliver on the technology aside from conducting a TechNet event. For this I thank Jojo Ayson of Microsoft Philippines for giving me a spot in the Blogs section of MSForums (note: as of Feb 2011, Jojo Ayson is no longer with MSPhil, and is also an MVP himself). I would not have done this successfully using any other blogsite.

With the Microsoft Philippines Community Forums, I also realized that as a technical person being active in a community discussion forum, I also have an awareness on ensuring that the community itself is a thriving one. Since the people in this community more or less have the same experiences and sentiments that I have, it is but logical that some of us put our heads together and find out what other things can be done in this community other than work? Being a musician that I am, I tried to find out if there are other musicians in this community and we formed a band we called Plug n Play. On top of this, we also enjoyed each others’ company in parties (i.e., “Eyeball” events or EB), and even discussed at what else can ensure that this community would thrive. In short, we also became concerned with how to make this community grow and improve.

So to summarize, this is probably what someone can keep in mind in becoming a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional:

  • Love Microsoft technology
  • Conduct events on Microsoft technology in TechNet events (for IT Pros) and MSDN events (for devs)
  • Actively participate in community forums covering the technologies one has a certain level of confidence in
  • Write about experiences on Microsoft technology in a blog
  • Help in the growth and improvement of the community.

My advise to those who want to become an MVP? Don’t! Wanting to become an MVP is a less reason to become an MVP. One is awarded the MVP recognition because of what one is doing for the community without any objective other than wanting to share one’s knowledge with the community. The moment the desire to become MVP becomes an objective, that person missed the entire point.

So before March 31 comes, I would like to say that becoming an MVP is beyond all expectation for me, and the entire experience has been a great one. I would like to thank Microsoft for the honor of selecting me to become one. I would also like to thank this great community for the enjoyable experiences shared! I hope that there would be more deserving MVP’s from the Philippines to come!

For more information about the Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) program, go to the MVP Website.

Jay Paloma
MVP – Enterprise Security
March 28, 2008

Written by jpaloma

February 21, 2011 at 12:13 AM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] am moved by Jay Paloma’s blog entry on being a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional. He became an MVP just by his burning desire to […]


Leave a Reply

